Register now for the 10th edition of the Columbus Trophy


The Columbus Trophy is an award, granted to a successful young entrepreneur who is active as supplier to the hospitality industry, or who has created an innovative hospitality concept. Opposed to the various hospitality innovation awards that are known throughout Europe, the Columbus Trophy does not focus solely on the product or service, but focuses on the entrepreneur behind it. Many young entrepreneurs have great drive and potential, but find it challenging to continue when they experience difficulties. The Columbus Trophy aims to support those entrepreneurs by stimulating them to take that extra step. The 10 finalists of the Columbus Trophy will be represented in the Experience Center, where they can present their products and/ or services to the participants of FXE. During FXE, the winner of the 10th edition of the Columbus Trophy will be announced.


Food Executive Europe (FXE) is the first event only for decision makers in the European hospitality industry. FXE is platform for networks and associations in the hospitality industry, in order to encourage sharing experiences and networking with likeminded people. The blue ocean, “out of the box” concept reflects the fast changing world around. Sustainability and environmental responsibility, as well as exploring new trends, technologies and possibilities, are returning themes within FXE. One of the goals of FXE is to provide an experience to all participants. Therefore, an Experience Center will be created, which will be the heart of FXE.


What are the criteria to participate in the Columbus Trophy? 

  • The company is a supplier to the hospitality industry, or has created an innovative hospitality concept
  • The company has existed for at least 1 year, and 10 years at most
  • The company has a maximum of 20 FTE’s
  • The company resides in Europe 
  • The company has the potential to grow internationally
  • The company can present itself in English
  • Global organizations are not allowed to participate in the Columbus Trophy


Candidate selection

  • Hospitality concepts and suppliers
  • Selection by merit of product / service 
  • Judging will be based on entrepreneurship

How can companies be nominated?
Candidates can nominate themselves and/or can be nominated by clients (hospitality companies), umbrella corporations within the hospitality branch, branch organisations, and (entrepreneurial) societies through Nomination can only be carried out by filling in the registration form. Registration is open until 21 September 2013 at the latest.


What is the procedure?

After a pre-selection, presentation rounds and surveys, ten finalists are selected by an expert jury of ‘captains of the hospitality industry’. One of these ten finalists will win the Columbus Trophy 2013.